NGlide versus my glide games collection

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Zeus wrote:And? Does NFS5 work at 10fps?
Yes.
Another way to test this - SDK tests.
Do you see lens flares with swap=?
Strange results.
There are lens flares for swap=0,1,2,4,5,6. But not always (1 time no flares with swap=2,4,5).
No lens flares for swap=3 (5 tries).
Voodoo2 SLI, 1024x768, all graphic options are maxed, headlights=projected, mirror=on.
Cote d'Asur.
WtF?
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Phoenix - nGlide 1.04 is detected as Voodoo5.

Have tried to replace UbiSetup.exe from the original Pod in %windows%\UbiSoft. The goal was to kill "no 3dfx card because no glide.dll and sst1init.dll in %system%". Well, it fixed "to play Pod" shortcuts but Pod autorun still uses the old ubisetup.exe and wants these two .dlls.
By the way, the original Pod works ok w/o Podhacks. No "16-bit display only", no "wrong CPU so I not run", no freezing sound...

Powerslide - there is 1024x768 mode now. And 960x720, 1280x1024 and 320x240 (?) resolutions are added for the patch 1.04. Good.
Unfortunately versions 1.01 and 1.04 still heavily glitched on NVidia cards.

Pro Pilot '99 - fixed.

Quake III: Arena - no 1280x1024 mode with nGlide?
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:Powerslide - there is 1024x768 mode now. And 960x720, 1280x1024 and 320x240 (?) resolutions are added for the patch 1.04. Good.
Unfortunately versions 1.01 and 1.04 still heavily glitched on NVidia cards.
Are these glitches less heavy on Voodoo2 or completely non-present?

To be sure, please finish "sandy blaster" track three times with different cars. After starting a race press Esc and return to the game (it's important). Count the number of the glitches during each race. Use game version 1.04.

I know how to get rid of them completely by modifying executables but I need to know how V2 behaves.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Zeus wrote: Are these glitches less heavy on Voodoo2 or completely non-present?
Yes. And on my Radeon HD2600 Pro too.
There are some blinking on Radeons: 1 texture is white/light purple in 0.1s then returns back to normal. NVidia artefacts are different, they looks like the wrong geometry.
To be sure, please finish "sandy blaster" track three times with different cars. After starting a race press Esc and return to the game (it's important). Count the number of the glitches during each race. Use game version 1.04.
Start the race, press Esc, select "Return to race"? Or start the race, press Esc, select "End Race", start the race again?

If the 2nd: no artifacts with Voodoo2 SLI, 7/5/1 blinks with Radeon HD2600 (Warthog/Big Heavier/Sabre), 4/40/7 blinks with Radeon Xpress 200M. The last one broke at the 3rd lap with Big Heavier, there were only 4 blinks in first 2 laps.

By the way - you can try to see the game on my Radeon HD2600 with TeamViewer. I hope it can translate 640x480x60 Hz...
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:If the 2nd: no artifacts with Voodoo2 SLI
What about 1st method? Also 0/0/0?
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Zeus wrote: What about 1st method? Also 0/0/0?
Yes. And the car shadow is always ok, by the way.
So - the game works ok on a real hardware (at least on Voodoo2 and Voodoo2 SLI). All 3 versions (1.00, 1.01 and 1.04).
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Rayman 2: the Great Escape - 3dfx logo is rendered in 320x200. WtF? :)
The game itself is ok.

RealMyst. Good news: patched version 1024x768 works ok.
Bad news: 800x600 quits to the desktop in both versions.
Must I test ALL possible resolutions now? The testing is already very slow... *Censored* :(

Return Fire II - looks like fixed at last.

Return to Castle Wolfenstein - have tested openglv5.dll and openglv3.dll with a real Voodoo2 SLI. The 1024x768 resolution not works too.

Plus I have located and fixed one annoying bug in my WinXpSp3 installations so I hope crashed/bugs will be less often/completely fixed. To be short - MS WMI Provider Subsystem Secured Host had wrong security settings (no Local Service/Network Service in "Run and activation" security descriptors)...
Last edited by Gamecollector on Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:
Zeus wrote: What about 1st method? Also 0/0/0?
Yes. And the car shadow is always ok, by the way.
So - the game works ok on a real hardware (at least on Voodoo2 and Voodoo2 SLI). All 3 versions (1.00, 1.01 and 1.04).
Ok, this is reaaaaaaaally weird.

The game keeps sending broken geometry even to a wrapper that don't do anything (I created a version of a library that doesn't allocate any memory, doesn't init D3D. Nothing, except logging geometry in grDrawTriangle).

If nGlide isn't responsible for this then how it's possible the game works fine on Voodoo? The only hardware check that exists in the game is used for different resolutions list + specular feature (only frame buffer version is checked) and texture manager (different for Banshee and other Voodoos). No difference when it comes to generated geometry.

There is also no way Voodoo could correct broken vertices. The triangles were either degraded (area=0; 2 of 3 vertices at the same position) or perfectly fine but some of the vertices were placed at wrong position.

The code responsible for glitches was introduced in v.1.01 and it's a new codepath for calculating geometry by using SSE instructions (next to other two: MMX and FPU). If we switch to FPU mode then the game works fine with nGlide.

The only method to manipulate SSE configuration (something that original Voodoo driver could do) is by using MXCSR register. But after checking this I haven't found anything.

... And because of this I'll be uploading modded executables into compatibility list.
Perhaps if I dug deeper in the code I could find solution for SSE mode, but I don't want to spend another weeks just for this one issue, especially when I have so many things on my todo list.

If anyone of you guys have idea what the solution might be, please let me know.
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:Rayman 2: the Great Escape - 3dfx logo is rendered in 320x200. WtF? :)
Yes, the game checks all resolutions before setting a desired one.
Gamecollector wrote:RealMyst. Good news: patched version 1024x768 works ok.
Bad news: 800x600 quits to the desktop in both versions.
Must I test ALL possible resolutions now? The testing is already very slow... *Censored* :(
Memory leak, the crashes are random. Sometimes EmulateHeap helps.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Zeus wrote: how it's possible the game works fine on Voodoo?
Please edit 1.01 or 1.04 .exes so it will indicate the used codepatch after a race. Maybe it uses the MMX/FPU codepatch on a real Voodoo2.
Memory leak, the crashes are random. Sometimes EmulateHeap helps.
The Realmyst memory leak or the nGlide memory leak?
And the game not chashes, it just quits to the desktop.
Plus this bug is constant, not random. 10 tries = 10 qtds.
About the EmulateHeap ACT fix - it in on in my glide ACT database but for the version 1.0 only. Version 1.1 is epically slow with this tweak. Unfortunately the 800x600 mode + nGlide 1.04 not works in both versions.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
Post Reply