NGlide versus my glide games collection

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:*Censored*. I will check this with a real SLI. FX_GLIDE_SWAPINTERVAL=1 IIRC...
P.S. No, there are lens flares even with the settings above
What? You have lens flares even at 60fps with V2? I guess I have no other choice but to debug game code...
Gamecollector wrote: Strange = no 1600x1200. Because IIRC 8 MB FB is enough for this mode (w/o triple buffering).
I checked the logs. It uses double buffering but with W-buffer.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Zeus wrote: What? You have lens flares even at 60fps with V2? I guess I have no other choice but to debug game code...
I'm not sure. Maybe V-sync wasn't disabled. So please wait.
Well, the easiest way to check is GLQuake timedemo IIRC.
I don't have Voodoo2 cable now so the check isn't easy. Unplug monitor cable, plug it to Voodoo2, then back...

Ok, the V-Sync is on by default for a real Voodoo2. 59.9 FPS in the glquake timedemo.
If I disable it with FX_GLIDE_SWAPINTERVAL=0 - I get 143.4 FPS.
NFS5 have lens flares with both settings.

So - it looks like the source of the NFS5 lens flare trouble is nGlide...
I checked the logs. It uses double buffering but with W-buffer.
1600 * 1200 * 2(16 bpp) * 3(double buffer + w-buffer) = 11.52 MB?
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:1600 * 1200 * 2(16 bpp) * 3(double buffer + w-buffer) = 11.52 MB?
Precisely.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

NHL 2000 and NHL 2001 - slow interface/cursor ghosting troubles are still here. But the value is small.

NHL 2002 - interface slowdown/cursor ghosting are heavy. And - shadows are broken with nGlide 1.04:
Nhl2002.JPG
Nhl2002.JPG (55.76 KiB) Viewed 4772 times
Last edited by Gamecollector on Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:Actua Soccer 2 - blue seams between stadium textures. Looks like I have always missed this glitch.
I'm not sure about this bug. Did you select the same teams (thus the stadium) when testing nGlide and V2? I'm asking because I see the seams on Voodoo exactly in the same places.

@NFS5
You may also try FX_GLIDE_SWAPINTERVAL=6 with NFS. 10fps will be hard not to notice.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Zeus wrote: I'm not sure about this bug. Did you select the same teams (thus the stadium) when testing nGlide and V2? I'm asking because I see the seams on Voodoo exactly in the same places.
Of course. Argentina (human) - Australia (CPU). The weather set to sunny.
And you was right. There are seams on a real Voodoo2. They are very thin but they are...
ActuaSoccer2V2.jpg
ActuaSoccer2V2.jpg (78.54 KiB) Viewed 4746 times
But they are much worse with nGlide:

Image
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Thanks for the screenshots. You gave me the idea that led me to:

tada!
nGlide dev.jpg
nGlide dev.jpg (83.66 KiB) Viewed 4731 times
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

About Actua Soccer 2 - good.

Official Formula 1 Racing - the game forces 1 resolution (1024x768 with nGlide 1.04, 800x600 with nGlide 1.03).
Well, the real hardware works similar (800x600 with a single Voodoo2, 1024x768 with SLI). But the question is - can this "you can't change the resolution" be fixed?
Two more troubles - the interface is too fast (the cursor moves to 2-3 positions) and the "System" menu freezes.

Operation Flashpoint: Resistance - well, with "terrain detail" and "visibility" you can overload any videocard even now... Of course nGlide isn't the exception. :)
Too bad OFP games not support TEXFMT. 256x256 only.
Last edited by Gamecollector on Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Have tested my Voodoo2 SLI some time in WinME.

1) Pandemonium 2 installer crashes with the same error (wildcards in the install script). Strange, I was certain I have the cd-image from the retail version... Or the retail version itself have this bug?
2) Have tested EA Sports games with the non-working WinXp Voodoo2 detection. 2002 FIFA World Cup: Korea Japan, FIFA 2000, FIFA 2001, FIFA 2002, Nascar 2000, NBA Live 2000, Need for Speed: Porsche 2000, NHL 2000, NHL 2001, NHL 2002. All 3DSetups detect a real Voodoo2 in WinME. There are some glitches (available resolutions as the example) but the detection itself is ok.
Maybe EA 3dsetup 2.x detects 3dfx cards through dx. And there is no Voodoo2 dx driver in WinXp...
3) Bad news. Have used dx9 dxdiag in WinME to test Voodoo2 d3d driver. Previous results are - error with d3d7 (can't create device context), correct d3d8 cube and no d3d9 support.
Well, have used this test w/o the passthrough cable. And - d3d8 cube was rendered by Radeon 9100, not by Voodoo2. WtF??? I have selected "Display 2" and ddraw test was ok (fullscreen only and rendered by Voodoo2).
So - there is no d3d on Voodoo2 with WinME + dx9. Not sure about the vanilla WinME (with dx7), I will re-test it later.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote: Official Formula 1 Racing - the game forces 1 resolution (1024x768 with nGlide 1.04, 800x600 with nGlide 1.03).
Well, the real hardware works similar (800x600 with a single Voodoo2, 1024x768 with SLI). But the question is - can this "you can't change the resolution" be fixed?
Maybe after 1.05 release, but yeah, some kind of launcher should do the trick.
Zeus wrote: @NFS5
You may also try FX_GLIDE_SWAPINTERVAL=6 with NFS. 10fps will be hard not to notice.
And? Does NFS5 work at 10fps?
Do you see lens flares with swap=6,5,4,3 and 2?
Post Reply