NGlide versus my glide games collection

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Ok, P4P800 SE was returned back to the test PC.
Testing is resumed.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Tried to run Psychic Force 2012 in WinME. The result is same - can't detect the cd.
Tried to run Autobahn in WinME. The result is same - can't detect a real Voodoo2.
Hmm...
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Have bought a second Voodoo2 for my test PC. The goal was SLI. Unfortunately the card not works (glide environment initialization fails etc). Tomorrow I will try to replace it in the store.
Oh, I still need a SLI bridge... Well, do-it-youself is the way.
P.S. 1 FDD cable + 10 minutes + proper internet manual + proper hands = 1 SLI bridge. :)

The defected card was replaced. SLI is detected now in both WinME and WinXp.
:D
*Censored*, forgot my Voodoo2 videocable in the shop...
SLI.JPG
SLI.JPG (23.75 KiB) Viewed 5155 times
By the way, Zeus, can something be done with this 3dfxV2ps.dll (so the resulting strings will be aligned properly in WinXp)?
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

MDK2 - no white lines in the text with nGlide 1.04. And the textures resolution isn't 256x256.
It's a nGlide hack or a real Voodoo3/4/5 have the proper filtering in this game because of some GL extensions?
Well, there is 1 more version. 3dfx fails and the game uses the default OGL w/o any warnings.

P.S. If the game uses glide - then (fanfares) WE HAVE THE FIRST GAME USING THE VSA-100 FEATURES!!! :)
Last edited by Gamecollector on Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:MDK2 - no white lines in the text with nGlide 1.04. And the textures resolution isn't 256x256.
It's a nGlide hack or a real Voodoo3/4/5 have the proper filtering in this game because of some GL extensions?
This is a Glide 3 TEXFMT official extension that has been implemented in 1.04. If detected, 3dfxvgl will use better textures.

TEXFMT adds several new features like 32-bit texture color depth, new lod levels: 512, 1024, 2048 (so the largest possible is 2048x2048x32, instead of 256x256x16) or compressed formats (FXT1, DXT1, DXT2, DXT3, DXT4, DXT5).

Another official Glide 3 extension added to nGlide 1.04 is PIXEXT. This one adds native 32-bit rendering, T-Buffer, Stencil buffer and 24-bit Z. If you want to see these features in action launch some other 3dfxvgl/WickedGL titles.

Historically both extensions were available with V4/V5 only. V3 didn't support them.
Gamecollector wrote:P.S. If the game uses glide - then (fanfares) WE HAVE THE FIRST GAME USING THE VSA-100 FEATURES!!! :)
Natively it's OpenGL, so we cannot call it Glide.
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:By the way, Zeus, can something be done with this 3dfxV2ps.dll (so the resulting strings will be aligned properly in WinXp)?
The culprit is RichEdit 2.0 so maybe try to open dll in a hex editor and replace RICHEDIT20A unicode strings into RICHEDIT50W.
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Well, after I have replaced WinXpSp3 riched20.dll in the %system% to the WinME version - the result looks ok.
SLI2.JPG
SLI2.JPG (25.24 KiB) Viewed 5102 times
The trouble is - another WinXp programs not work after this. :)
And there is no the riched20.dll dependency in 3dfxv2ps.dll... This dll is linked through something else. So the force approach (rename the link in 3dfxv2ps.dll) will not work.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

What about my suggestion? Does it change anything?
Gamecollector
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Gamecollector »

Zeus wrote:What about my suggestion? Does it change anything?
Well, I don't have a hex editor with the unicode search support.
Any suggestions?
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Post by Zeus »

Put zeros between each character:

52 00 49 00 43 00 48 00 45 00 44 00 49 00 54 00 32 00 30 00 41 00

or ....
use HxD that has the feature. I highly recommend it.
Gamecollector wrote:And there is no the riched20.dll dependency in 3dfxv2ps.dll
There is but it's also unicode. After replacing 2 RICHEDIT20A strings to RICHEDIT50W, replace also RICHED20.DLL to MSFTEDIT.DLL.

No idea if this trick will fix the problem, but it's worth a try.
Post Reply