Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
Post Reply
PepsiBoy428
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 2:00 am

Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by PepsiBoy428 »

Hi i'm trying to run NASCAR Racing 2 on DOSBox with Gulikoza's patch (Ykhwong's build) and everytime I start the game, I get this odd error, Deleting the glide2x.dll file in the DOSBox build's directory and setting the Memsize to 63 in dosbox.conf did nothing, can anyone help me please? I'm trying to run it with the N2REND.bat file. I'm also using the latest version of nGlide. Here's a picture of my error.
NASCAR2ERROR.png
NASCAR2ERROR.png (18.63 KiB) Viewed 1669 times
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by Zeus »

Try launching the game with NAS3DFX.BAT. Do you have it in your game folder along with NAS3DFX.EXE?
PepsiBoy428
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 2:00 am

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by PepsiBoy428 »

I don't have that file bc I have the All American Sports Series version
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by Zeus »

Try downloading it from here.

Then, create NAS3DFX.BAT with:

Code: Select all

SET N2FXAA=2
SET N2FXLOAD=0X100000
NAS3DFX.EXE -3DFX
PepsiBoy428
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 2:00 am

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by PepsiBoy428 »

Tried that it says "Please run this installation under Windows 3.1 or higher"
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by Zeus »

Oh crap, you're right. It's a Windows executable.

I uploaded necessary files to nGlide compatiblity list. Please let me know if it's working properly.
PepsiBoy428
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 2:00 am

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by PepsiBoy428 »

Just applied the patch and It crashes after the 3DFX logo splashscreen

*UPDATE* Just downloaded the actual version of DOSBox that's required and now the game doesn't detect my mouse.
*UPDATE AGAIN* Setting the resolution settings to By App in the nGlide configurator fixed the mouse problem but I wanna run it at my native desktop resolution (1920x1080)
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by Zeus »

The build I was using is SVN-Daum (Ykhwong's) from Jan 27, 2014.

My DOSBOX config changes were:
[dosbox]
memsize=63

[glide]
glide=true
lfb=full
splash=true

Never had any problems with mouse. It's inactive once you launch the game, but simply clicking left button fixes the problem. I can freely change nGlide resolution or backend with no issues.
PepsiBoy428
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 2:00 am

Re: Help cannot get NASCAR Racing 2 working on DOSBOX with

Post by PepsiBoy428 »

Clicking in the corner of the screen worked properly! Thanks! I use my desktop's native resolution (1920x1080)
Post Reply